

UWF Honorary Awards and Recognition Committee Meeting

Thursday, May 2, 2024 10:00 a.m. via Zoom

DRAFT

Attendees: President Martha Saunders, SGA President Maggie Brown, Dean DeBolt, Dr. Alexis Janosik, Dr. Miu Ha Kwong, Nicole McDonald, Dr. Heather Riddell, Dr. Jeffrey Simpson, Dr. Julie Williams, and Howard Reddy (chair). Patricia Barlow attended to take notes for Provost, and Geri Battist provided admin support for the committee.

Minutes prepared by Geri Battist.

WELCOME

Chair Howard Reddy called the meeting to order at 10:00 p.m. Chair Reddy welcomed and thanked committee members for attending.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chair Reddy briefly explained why the draft April 4, 2019, committee minutes had not been approved at the 2021 HARC meeting being that the minutes were publicly posted and the best appropriate time to notify the honorary doctorate degree recipient was yet to be determined due to COVID, etc. President Martha Saunders and Chair Howard Reddy were the only two 2019 committee members present; therefore, President Saunders made the motion and Howard Reddy seconded the motion to approve the April 4, 2019, committee minutes. The motion passed unanimously, all in favor. Chair Reddy asked the committee for a motion to approve the August 23, 2021, committee minutes. Motion: Dean DeBolt. Second: President Martha Saunders. Hearing no objections or comments, the motion passed unanimously, all in favor.

REVIEW OF HONORARY DOCTORATE DEGREE NOMINATION RECEIVED

Chair Reddy briefly reviewed with the committee the nomination received for an honorary doctorate degree of Humane Letters. The item was open for discussion. Committee member Dean DeBolt commented that the nominee meets the criteria and has accomplished significate achievements, supports the University and is well-known regionally for their philanthropy to education and community needs. Committee member Nicole McDonald expressed the same. Dr. Julie Williams and Dr. Heather Riddell also made comments in agreement. Chair Reddy asked for a motion to accept the nomination and for the committee to make a recommendation to the President to bestow this honor to the nominee at the Fall 2024 Commencement or other appropriate event (recipient not to be mentioned in minutes until after notified). Motion: Dean DeBolt. Second: Nicole McDonald. Hearing no objections, the motion carried with all voting in favor. A memo of recommendation will be prepared and submitted to President Saunders for Board of Trustees approval.

OTHER BUSINESS - HARC CHARTER REVISIONS

Chair Reddy stated that the charter needed updating to reflect the recent restructuring of the colleges. All changes in the redline revision reflect the restructuring as well as align with the recently approved, revised, and executed BOT Policy 01.03-02/24 Bestowing Honorary Awards and Recognitions. Chair Reddy opened it for discussion and additional suggested revisions. Hearing none, he asked for a motion to accept the changes to the Charter as reflected in the redline version of the Charter. Motion: President Martha Saunders. Second: Dean DeBolt. Hearing no objections, Chair Reddy accepted a vote all in favor by committee members present. The revised charter will go before the Faculty Senate Governance Committee.

Chair Reddy mentioned the revised and executed BOT-01.03-2/24 Bestowing Honorary Awards and Recognitions which was updated to reflect the restructuring of the colleges. He mentioned that the only new addition to the policy was that honorary doctorate degrees and awards may be bestowed posthumously.

ADJOURNMENT

Hearing no further comments, Chair Reddy thanked the committee members for their time and efforts. The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 AM.

Minutes prepared by Geri Battist, 5.02.2024.